Menu Close
View Categories

Backup & Restore

Menu path: Tools > Backup & Restore

Once your collection grows and grows it is a good idea to make a backup of your data.

Imagine yourself re-entering all the information you have lost by a virus attack, a hard disk crash or .. ! Make sure to make frequent backups and to store them at least on another hard drive within your pc, but preferably on an external medium.

Creating a backup #

Select a target directory where Data Crow can write the backup file and press “Backup”. Once done all your settings, modules, images and the database will have been backed up!

You can also leave a comment, which will be displayed when you select a backup for restore. Always helpful to leave hint for yourself.

Restoring a backup #

First you have to indicate what should be restored from the backup. In most cases it will be enough to only restore the database. Optionally you can select to restore the modules and report templates. This is only needed when the backup contains custom or modified modules and/or reports.

To restore a backup, browse for the backup file and press “Restore”. Data Crow will restore the database (overwriting the current!), your images and all yours settings. After the restore has finished Data Crow is up and running on your restored database, using the restored settings.

Server backup #

When you are connected to a server, administrators can make a backup on the server: Tools menu, Server Backup. Choose a full backup or a backup of the data only (no pictures and attachments). The backups are kept on the server. You can restore and delete them from the same screen.

Before a restore, the server checks the backup (the version, and whether it is damaged; a damaged backup changes nothing) and makes a snapshot of the current data. Then the data, settings, modules, pictures and attachments of the backup are put back. What was added after the backup is removed, except that a backup of the data only leaves the pictures and attachments as they are. The server loads everything again without restarting.

While a backup is made or restored the server cannot be used by others: they get a message that the server is in maintenance mode. When a restore is finished, all users are logged off and the full client needs to be restarted.

Scheduled backups #

On the tab Scheduled backups you can let the server make backups by itself: daily or weekly at a time you choose, and with the number of scheduled backups to keep. You enter the time in your own local time, also when the server is in another time zone. A scheduled backup is a full backup. Only scheduled backups are removed automatically. The web client has the same screen, see Administration (Web Client).